Singapore Day 3

Day 3: 9/21/2011

Shopping day! 😉

Started the day with a stroll along Joo Chiat Road.

I got excited on our first bus ride in Singapore. The bus stop is a few minutes walk away from our hotel. You need to take note of what bus number you need to ride to the place you want to go. Again, EZ link cards are used in the bus as you enter and exit the bus. You need to push the stop button when you are going to alight. I noticed that there are many elderly people who use the bus than the MRT, maybe because it’s safer for them and the bus is not crowded unlike here in the Philippines where public vehicles carry more than the expected number of passenger capacity. We experienced traffic along the way to Somerset Road due to rerouting for the Grand Prix event. I still enjoyed it because I was able to see the other side of the city.

We had our brunch in 313 @ Somerset mall. The mall was small and you can check out all the stores for a short time. I liked their foodcourt because of many varieties. What I had is the Huat Huat BBQ Chicken Wings. Although loaded with calories I can’t let it pass. It was slow roasted and very delicious.

Next, shopping. Never miss Cotton On. Cheaper than Forever 21. They have buy 2 items for a single and more affordable price. I think Forever21 here is better than in Singapore because there are more designs and larger sizes available. Oh and cheaper.

Then, we went to the newly opened H&M store. It was filled with excited shoppers like us. On a tight budget like me, you can spot some affordable clothes and there are two items for one price like 2 shirts for 30$.

Next stop was the ION orchard mall which is one MRT station away from Somerset.. It’s classy due to its international award-winning architecture and design.  My other friend Jasmin went with us but we only stayed there for a very short time because we needed to go Bugis Street.

Bugis street is a thrift market, bustling with shoppers, delectable food and drinks stalls, souvenir shops and cheap merchandise. It’s like the version of 168 Mall in the Manila. Buying cheap items is good in the pocket but you need to check the quality of what you buy.

That was our busy day before we went to Changi Airport for our flight to Manila.

I think fell in love with Singapore.

There are so many activities I want to do and places to visit but time flew by so fast. A few of the list in our itinerary were missed out. I wished time would freeze so we had a lot of time.

I wasn’t able to try the following which I will try on my next visit there.

– Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream.

– East Coast Park Chili Crabs or Seafoods

– Singapore River Cruise

– More of Resorts World Sentosa Activities

– More strolling, window shopping and shopping in Orchard Street – More discoveries in Bugis Street

– Gastronomic experiences: Laksa and Bak Kut Teh, more Hawker and Marche

– Grocery: Fare Price and Cold storage

– A walk in the local neighborhood.

– Chinatown and Little India – More talk and bonding with my special friends Jasmin and Vanessa.

– Relaxing and chilling sessions by the rooftop of Vivo City and around Marina Bay.

I thank God for this wonderful, memorable and safe trip to Singapore. God is great!

What I learned and realized about Singapore is to value my time and to be disciplined. Their transportation system is fast, efficient and convenient to make things easier for people and to use time wisely. Every minute or second counts. The country became progressive because of the discipline that’s instilled in the people.

I wish our country will be like that…and the people.{Nothing is impossible!}

I also realized Filipinos are very warm, friendly, hospitable and always smiling which is different from other cultures.

 

Needless to say, I fell in love with Singapore. I’ll be back Singapore! 🙂

Leave a Reply

