Have it your way.

The famous catchy phrase says, “Have it your way.”

We are used to having it our own way.  Back in the day, there were instances where I would insist having it my way. When my plans don’t happen the way I pictured it to happen, I would end up in a bad mood. I become bitter and disappointed.

When I was in the US embassy last July 2011, I just stared and observed the people as they finish their interviews. Others leave the place with a big smile, confidence and some with a blank face (because they were denied). I remember when this woman turned her back from the consul’s window and approached someone (she knows) and said, “Maybe, God has other plans for me!” There was no trace of sadness and disappointment on the woman’s face but an aura of hope and faith in God. That moment, I know she has her full trust in God. I smiled inside of me.

Before my interview, I bear in mind the usual questions to be answered and the important information I need to give to the consul. The bottom line is I came prepared. I even used faith words and declared that I will be approved and I am favored by God. Well, things turned the other way around when the not so pleasant, good-looking consul asked few short questions far from the purpose of my travel and exam and denied me without a care to see my support documents. So, I went home still with joy and overpowered by the woman’s declaration that, “Maybe God has other plans.”

Then, I had another interview the following week. This time I talked to God, “I will do this Lord. I want this to be finished. You are bigger than anyone else in this place. I surrender this to you. I trust you. You are in control.” The interview went well. The consul was very nice and was open to let me ask a few questions but in the end, I was denied again. That was a tough test.

I cannot deny that I got sad and cried a little about what happened. It was out of my hands but I didn’t let that thing get a hold of me. I said to God, “Whatever happened I will still continue to trust and praise you even I was hurt.” I was amazed how easily I was able to move on with this trial with a joy and peace in my heart and mind. I know I need to hold on to His promise that, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:12

Looking back, I know I will never find the answers to my questions on why I was denied twice.   Maybe there are questions that no one can ever answer except Him. Unanswered prayers.  Lost a loved one. Neglected and left by someone. Lost in a game which you have trained hard. Plans that need to be adjusted because of a delay. There are times when things will go in the other direction. When these things happen we tend to be bitter, anxious, disappointed, lose our trust in God, blame and question Him. But who are we to question Him. We need to release from the negative feelings and thoughts. Let go and let God be God. Finally, we can now say, “Have it your way, God.” because God’s ways are not our ways.

Isaiah 55:8-9

8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the LORD.
9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.
10 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

3 thoughts on “Have it your way.

Leave a Reply

